Off-topic: Thames Clippers – what are they good for?

Just one in my occasional series of London commuting hell posts – and inspired by Jon Worth’s travelogues!

I work in Westminster, and last night I was going to Greenwich for a concert at the Royal Naval College. I thought, I know, I’ll get the Thames Clipper. I would be keen to use the river to commute regularly, if it wasn’t so expensive, as I live near the river and my office is near Westminster Pier. So it seemed a good opportunity to try it out. I looked up the times on the Thames Clipper website and found one went at 18.10 which fitted perfectly with my timing for the evening. I got to Westminster Pier at about 18.00 to find there was nowhere to buy a ticket. OK, I thought, I’m sure they sell them on the boat. I went down to the pier and couldn’t quite work out which boarding point I was supposed to be at, as there were two for Greenwich and neither mentioned Thames Clippers. I waited till 18.20, but no boat came, though I could see two that looked like the Thames Clippers waiting over at the London Eye pier. There was no-one around to ask, no information about timetables etc and the pier was dark and deserted. So I went and got the tube.

Transport in London is undoubtedly a nightmare, and with us in the South-east been forced to depend on Southeastern and the Jubilee line, we have our fair share of problems. The river offers a solution, but on last night’s experience, I won’t be trying that again. The final irony was that as I arrived at North Greenwich and went to get a bus to Greenwich town centre, one of the giant screens outside the O2 was covered in an advert for…Thames Clippers.

2 Comments

Filed under Living in London

2 responses to “Off-topic: Thames Clippers – what are they good for?

  1. Marcelo

    The clipper does not stop at westminster. Last (or first) stop is the London eye. Pity because is definitely a brilliant way of travelling. It is aimed at commuting, fast and pleasant. Try it next time from London eye or embankment.
    P.s. I don’t work for them🙂
    Marcelo

    • antonia

      well that explains that! Still, it’s not very clear when you’re there, as there are clearly services supposed to run to Greenwich from Westminster Pier, but no timetables or anything to tell you when.

Leave a Reply

